Brian Green Property Group NZ Super 6's

Just one week before tee off in the inaugural Brian Green Property Group NZ Super 6's at Manawatu Golf Club. This event is unique for being one of the first ever events where men and women play together for the same prize pool at the elite level. As with other Charles Tour events in New Zealand the field is made up of both professional and amateur players, however this is also a unique format for the Charles Tour.

So how does it work? All players in the field play 2 rounds of golf over Thursday and Friday, before a cut reduces the field down to 60 players plus ties for the 3rd round on Saturday. From that 60, the field will be further reduced down to just 24 players to compete in 6 hole knockout matchplay until one player is left, who will be declared the tournament winner. That winner could be a man or a women, which is one of the talking points of this event.

Headlining the field of players at this stage will be top NZ professionals Michael Hendry, Mark Brown, Luke Toomey, Gareth Paddison, Daniel Pearce, Nick Voke and rookie professional Dan Hillier, along with a group of regular professionals, all applying their trade nationally and overseas.

Notable amateurs entries include Kerry Mountcastle, Tyler Wood, Matt McLean, NZ Amateur Champion Sam Jones, Charlie Smail, Mako Thompson and a whole group of exciting young talent from around the country. Notable women in the field include NZ Reps Juliana Hung, Darae Chung & Fiona Xu, and Manawatu Wanganui number 1, Tara Raj. There is also a good group of up and coming young women, competing for the title.

This is also a great chance for local players to play in an event of this level and currently 18 local based players are entered to compete - a mixture of amateur and professional, men and women.

This is a fantastic opportunity for the local golfing community or anyone interested in watching top level golf to come down as spectators. Sunday is expected to be very popular with the 6 hole matchplay knockout matches amongst the top 24 players from the strokeplay.

For more information about the event go to: