Freyberg Masters team named

Manawatu Wanganui Golf selectors have named the team to play in this years Freyberg Masters Interprovincial, to be played at Whitford Park in Auckland starting Monday 6th November. To be eligible players must be 40 years or over as at the first day of competition.

Following the success of the team in winning the Masters section at last weekends Shand Cup, the team is capable of a very high up performance, possibly even winning the event if things go their way during the week.

Three players earn automatic selections into the team through the first 4 events of the Order of Merit series. While that series was weather shortened this year, Junior Tatana, Tony Chettleburgh and Rick Harding were the 3 players to gain automatic selection.

The three other players selected at the discretion of the selectors were Phil Hooper, Rhys Watkins and Ross Geary. Geary was named in a manager/reserve position, however is expected to play the odd match due to the nature of the event, whereby players compete in 8 matches over a space of 5 days. Players may choose to sit out a match due to fatigue or form at any stage throughout the event, and be replaced by the reserve.

Selectors advised that they did have a tough decision to make regarding the 6th player, as it was particularly close between Geary and Palmerston North's Mike McSherry. Geary's form at last weekends Shand Cup where he played well in winning all 3 matches, was the  deciding factor.

Junior Tatana does have a slight injury cloud hanging over him which forced him out of the Senior Shand Cup side, however is expecting to be ready in time for the event. Tatana if fit will be one of the best credentialed players at the event, and the obvious choice to fill the number 1 spot for Manawatu Wanganui. Tatana was number 1 in the senior mens Interprovincial team last year, and could have been again this year, but has ruled himself out of that event due to work commitments.

We wish the team all the best at the event and look forward to following the results.

Full team:

Junior Tatana (Palmerston North)
Tony Chettleburgh (Feilding)
Phil Hooper (Wanganui)
Rhys Watkins (Manawatu)
Rick Harding (Wanganui)

Manager/Reserve: Ross Geary (Rangatira)

Tatana, Hooper & Watkins will all be competing in their first Freyberg Masters Interprovincial.

Pictured below: Junior Tatana