Final A & B Grade Men's Pennant Result


Manawatu are the 2013 pennant champions after defeating Feilding at Feilding Golf Club 8 – 4. Both teams were unbeaten going into the match so it was very keenly contested, and was predicted to be a close battle. On a very fine still day Manawatu prevailed 3 – 1 in the foursomes, with 3 of the 4 matches being decided on the 18th hole. This gave the Manawatu team quite an advantage heading into the afternoon singles matches. Feilding were almost down a man on just the 3rd hole when Roddy McCabe went over on his ankle, and looked unlikely to be able to continue. The teams agreed that Roddy could continue with the assistance of a cart. Although in a lot of pain and having to play all shots with his weight on his back foot and wearing just one golf shoe,  Roddy battled right down to the final hole, with his opponent Josh Sedgwick having to hole a 7 foot par putt to win 1 up. Interestingly the more experienced players prevailed in all the other singles matches with the Manawatu players winning 5 - 3. The battle of the number 1’s was won by Ewan Westergaard over Mike Atkins 2/1, and Malcolm Wells defeated 15 year old Michael Birchall 5/3 at number 2. Previously unbeaten player Tommy McGowan for Feilding suffered his lost against Manawatu number 3 Stu Smith. Feilding other wins were Dean McKenzie over Guy Perry and Stu Atkins over Brad Sinclair. Manawatu players Jonothan Salmon and Rhys Watkins were comfortable winners over teenagers Ben Anderson and Luke Harrison at 5 and 6 respectively.


The bottom of the table clash between Marton and Tawhero came right down to the wire with Marton just holding on 6.5 – 5.5. Marton would have felt comfortable after a 3-1 win in the morning foursomes, and requiring just 3 out of 8 singles matches to stay in A Grade. There were some nervous moments amongst the Marton players after losing 4 of the first 5 singles matches with all other matches close. The well performed Lachie McDonald at number one beat Rhys Harold 2 up to seal the close victory. Unfortunately this means that Tawhero will face relegation to B Grade. The small Wanganui club that play on the 9 hole RiverCity course, had stayed in the top division for quite a number of years.


Final Points                                  Points                   Games

1          Manawatu                            21                            63

2          Feilding                                 18                            55

3          Levin                                      13                            42

4          Foxton                                    8                            36½

5          Palmerston North                7                           38½              

6          Taihape                                   6                           35½

7          Marton                                    6                            34½

8          Tawhero                                  3                            31  



B Grade Pennant

Tawhero will likely be replaced in A Grade by their neighbours Wanganui Golf Club, after they took out the B Grade competition. They defeated the other Wanganui club Castlecliff 7. 5 – 4.5 at Linton Camp in the final round. It is expected that Wanganui will accept a position in A Grade for next year.

Wanganui were very consistent all year with an A Grade quality team, and had far too much depth for the other teams in the B Grade competition.


At the bottom of the table Linton Camp narrowly lost to Feilding B on their home course 6.5 – 5.5, which meant they are now destined for C Grade next year. Young Feilding player Jayden Hunter defeated the experienced Jody Martin at number 1 in the singles 1 up. Had that result gone the other then Linton Camp would have stayed up at Rangatira who had a 6 all draw against Manawatu B, would have been the team to finish bottom of the grade.


Next year Wanganui B will come up into B Grade after taking out the C Grade competition.


Final Points                                  Points                    Games

1          Wanganui                              21                           64  

2          Castlecliff                              15                           51  

3          Hawkestone                         13                           40½           

4          Feilding B                              12                           42

5          Manawatu B                          10                           48½               

6          Buckley                                   6                           30

7          Rangatira                               3                           30½

8          Linton Camp                           1                           29½