Selector steps down in a bid to make the team


Manawatu Wanganui Golf can add one more player to its stable as current  team selector Rhys Watkins looks to  trial for  the teams this year. Having held a job as selector on and off for the past  7 years, Watkins has decided to step down from the role to ensure no clashes of interest arise as he looks to reclaim his representative player  status.

With a fine A  Grade pennant record over the past few years  (81% win rate), he played in the final representative quadrangular of 2010, the Central North Island Quadrangular, winning 2 of 3 games at number 7.  Having played  multiple interprovincials  for both Manawatu Wanganui and Taranaki, he has a wealth of experience which will hold him  in fine stead against the younger players such as Willie Steer, Kaylin Huwyler and Guy Perry who will be joining him in the pre season  Representative Preparation Squads named recently by now selectors, Russell McDonald and Geoff  Ross.    

Full Squads will be confirmed later in the week but the invitees for 2011 are


Toro Squad

Ewan Westergaard (Manawatu), Josh Munn (Manawatu), Lachie McDonald (Marton), Trent Munn (Manawatu)  and Tyler Hodge (Levin)

Senior Squad

Rhys Watkins (Manawatu), Adam Rapson (Manawatu), Malcolm Wells (Brookfields Park), Willie Steer (Marton), Shaun Millard (Levin), Matthew Preston (Levin), Kaylin Huwyler (Tawhero), Stu Smith (Manawatu)  and Guy Perry (Manawatu).

Junior Squad

Jeffrey Handcock (Manawatu), Jack Leenards (Manawatu), Rhys Harold (Palmerston North), Alex Whiley (Levin), Mike Birchall (Manawatu)  and Jackson Campbell (Waimarino).