SBS Team

ewan_1005.jpgJoshua Munn, Ewan Westergaard, Lachie McDonald, Tyler Hodge and Trent Munn will look to continue the districts improving representative programme when they compete in the Southland Invitational in Invercargill from March 5-6. As the recognised national teams strokeplay championship, it attracts the top players from around the country. Having won the event only once in its long history, the team will surely enter this years event with renewed confidence after narrowly missing the Toro semifinals and with the team members all playing well in the early part of the 2011 season. Josh Munn has recorded two victories at the Lawnmaster and Hastings Open whist team member Tyler Hodge has also tasted success at the North Island Under 17s and finished runnerup to Munn at the Lawnmaster. McDonald has been firing low scores again with a 65 at Manawatu and a 68 at Mount Maunganui where he finished 6th behind winner Ryan Fox. Westergaard has placed inside the top  7 at both the Hastings Open and Lawnmaster whilst Trent Munn will be returning from an injury  that has seen him miss most of February's events.

With the format "best 4 of 5 scores" the team composition looks perfect to give the top districts a shock and look to raise the trophy again after victory in 2002 led by Tour player Tim Wilkinson.
Scoring updates will be posted on  our front page over the playing weekend.