Championship and Weekend Pennant Summary

Championship and Weekend Pennants involved a new format for 2015.The new part was having each round consist of foursomes in the morning and singles in the afternoon playing the same team. The retained part was teams of two and Championship matches off the stick and Weekend off handicap

It was great to seee 9 teams involved in both Pennants. A couple of clubs combined so they could enter a team for Championship. This allowed Rangitikei and Castlecliff to once again enter a team. Eketahuna and Pahiatua also combined as did Taihape, Foxton and Linton Camp (TFL or Three Foxy Ladies).

The inclusion of foursomes followed by singles matches seemed to be enjoyed by most and did bring in great team spirit.

The Weekend competition was fierce and results were able to go anyway with the maximum of 5 points per round available but also bye rounds to be taken into consideration. After the 7th round there were 5 teams with a 3 ½ point difference. After round 8 the same 5 teams had a 3 point difference. Taihape were ahead of Rangatira by ½, Marton were ½ behind that, but their final round was a bye, and Feilding and Pahiatua were another 1 point behind each respectively.

The final round was therefore anybody’s. Unfortunately Wanganui could not field a team with the terrible flooding they experienced and defaulted to Rangatira giving them the full 5 points. Feilding also won the full 5 points against Palmerston North and Pahiatua managed a win with 4 points over Taihape 1 point. The final result was therefore Rangatira on 29, with Feilding moving up to 2nd on 27.5 and Pahiatua and Taihape on 25.5.

Congratulations to Rangatira and although you never want to win on a default it was great to see all matches played in good spirits.

The Championship competition was not as tight towards the end as after round 7 Marton were 7 points ahead of Rangitikei/Castlecliff who were ½ a point ahead of Levin B and Manawatu 5 points behind that. These top 3 teams managed the full 5 points in their 8th round while Manawatu failed to gain a point and with Palmerston North gaining 5 points these two teams were equal 4th. The final round had Marton with the bye and already 7 points ahead and therefore could not be beaten. The quest was therefore on for the minor placings.
Levin B came in with the 5 points while Rangitikei/Castlecliff gained 2.5 and Manawatu the full quota with Palmerston North 2.5.
The Champions of the Championship were therefore Marton with Levin B finishing 2nd, Rangitikei/Castlecliff 3rd and Manawatu 4th.
Congratulations to all teams and the well fought battles.