Feilding win Presidents Trophy.

The Feilding Golf Club’s Presidents Trophy team recently won the Manawatu Wanganui pennant for the first time since the competition started in 1987. The final was played against a team from Marton Golf Club on the 22nd June at the Rangitikei Golf Club course at Bulls. The Feilding team captain Bill Riordan commented that the course was in excellent order with the greens running quite fast. In a very tense battle 5 of the 8 matches were decided on the 18th green, all of which Feilding won to complete a 7.5 to 2.5 margin of victory. Bill thanked all 12 players who contributed during the season with special mention of Kevin Pawson who appeared in every round and won all but one of his matches. The team for the final was Trevor Ward, Trevor Bain, Matt Leamy, Kevin Small, Alan Deihl, Ian Harvey, Bill and Kevin. Those who played in earlier rounds were Steve Lochhead, Ross Pratt, Mike Touhy and Cliff Lally.

Feilding Golf Club Men’s Club Captain Wayne White when announcing the teams achievement at the clubrooms the following Saturday said it was a very pleasing result for the Club and topped off a good season for their representative teams with A Grade placing 3rd, B Grade 7th, and Palmanui 2nd having only gone down 5-4 to Manawatu Golf Club at the same course two weeks earlier. Wayne hopes that the President team’s success will rub off on the players selected to take part in the last interclub competition of the season when they take on Palmerston North GC at Pahiatua on the 6th July in the 1st round of Zones.

Back row (standing) - Steve Lochhead, Kevin Pawson, Ian Harvey, and Bill Riordan (Captain)

Front Row (kneeling) - Trevor Bain and Kevin Small.

Compiled by Feilding Golf Club Men’s Vice Club Captain - Tony Boxall – 3/7/14.